Free Fuzz VST and Over 7880 Free Backing Tracks

I came across a couple of nice freebies on the internet and thought I would share them.

The first one is Distorque’s Face Bender fuzz pedal VST.  I have been looking for a decent free fuzz pedal VST for a while but haven’t found one that sounds real to me.  The ones I have tried sound fuzzy, but not like a Fuzz Face or other recognizable fuzz pedal.  Up to now I have been using my fuzz pedals in front of my audio interface when using a VST amp simulator with OK results, but nothing great.  Then I stumbled upon Distorque’s Face Bender fuzz pedal VST and became much happier.  In a mix it’s the closest I have heard to my real Fuzz Face.  Here is some info I copied from there website:

“This is an emulation of a Fuzz Face and a Tone Bender MKII with added controls for tweaking. It runs in mono or stereo, and has selectable 2x oversampling.  The Fuzz Face was first made by Arbiter Electronics in 1966. It had a thick, fuzzy distortion and was made famous by artists like Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, and David Gilmour. The Tone Bender MKII was also released in 1966, by Sola Sound. Compared to the Fuzz Face, it has a brighter, more distorted sound.” –Distorque

Face Bender VST by Distorque

I also ran across this great website, http://www.guitarbackingtrack.com/.   They have over 7880 backing tracks that can be played in flash format from their site or downloaded in MP3 format.  They are all well indexed by artist and cover a wide variety of music.  I was able to find tunes by Pat Metheny, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, and The Red Hot Chili Peppers.  The flash player even has an A-B looper for working out specific sections.

Below is one of the tracks I found at http://www.guitarbackingtrack.com/.  I decided to record a guitar track using the Face Bender and kill two birds with one stone.

Manic Depression Backing Track with Face Bender VST

(Stratocaster -Impedance Buffer- Moto 8pre – Face BenderBTE Audio T’s SecretPoulin Hybrit Full StackRedwirez Marshall 1960A Impulse Responses – Reaper DAW)



Leave a Reply

