No More Rusty Guitar Strings and Screws?

I wrote a post a while back called Screwing Screwed Screws that deals with common screw issues on guitars.  Many of the issues myself and other guitarist have with screws on our guitars is the result of acidic hand sweat rusting the screws.  Well now there is a product by GraphTech that might make my post obsolete, but that’s a good thing.  It’s called Chops PrePlay and it is a pH balancer hand conditioner that instantly neutralizes acidic hands.   Supposedly it protects the guitar’s metal parts while making playing more comfortable.   Perhaps the dreaded frozen bridge saddle screw is a thing of the past.  I am usually not a fan of gimmicky guitar products, I’m more from the school of “Shut Up And Play Yer Guitar”, but I may try Chops PrePlay out.  The only thing I fear is that it might soften my calluses I worked so hard to develop.

 


5 Comments on “No More Rusty Guitar Strings and Screws?”

  1. AiXeLsyD13 says:

    What about clear nail polish over the tops of all the screw heads?

    • Matt Fleming says:

      I have never tried putting it on the top of the heads, only on the threads to prevent loosening. Have you tried it? It sounds like a good idea for certain screws like on pickup adjustment and cover screws that get a lot of hand contact. Maybe on bridge saddle screws too. I’ve switched all my saddle screws to stainless but for someone that has non-stainless that may help a lot.

      • AiXeLsyD13 says:

        I haven’t tried it, but I’ve heard of it as an anti-rust solution before. I’d try that before any lotion, ha ha.

      • Matt Fleming says:

        I got caught up in the no rust thing, but after thinking about it I don’t think applying lotion would be a very cool addition to my pre-gig ritual. I can’t imagine it becoming “one scotch, one bourbon, one beer and a squirt of lotion.” I think I’ll just shut up and play my guitar.

      • AiXeLsyD13 says:

        Ha ha, no… chances are if you’re blogging about it, others have had the same questions/issues. I have enough stuff in my gig-bag, let alone adding lotion that will bust open & get all over everything.

        I’ve noticed that if I let my guitars sit, that’s when the rust happens.


Leave a Reply

