My Guitar Tracks Sound Thin, WTF?

The other night I was recording some rhythm guitar tracks on my DAW and wasn’t happy with how they turned out.  I really needed an over the top, in your face , yet focused and edgy tone, basically a lot to ask for.  I’ve been through this before and usually resolve this issue in one of two ways.

Method 1 – Sometimes I will cut and paste the rhythm guitar track into an empty track.  This allows me to pan them, add a few milliseconds of delay to one side to fatten it up, and then eq each one differently.  It is an effective technique, but can require lots of tweaking to get just right.

Method 2 – Another method I use is to record the track multiple times using different guitars, amps, and microphones.  This one yields great results but can be a major pain in the butt and is very time consuming.  This method can also be done using VST amp simulators, but it eats up my CPU quickly.

Being lazy, I didn’t feel like going through the hassles of these two methods and I decided to search for an alternative.  After about ten minutes of Googling I found VESCOFX’s FREE Haas Delay plugin.

free-haas

Basically it does all of what my method 1 does without having to cut and paste and use extra tracks.  Here is a list of features:

  • 64-bit internal processing resolution.
  • Lots of built in presets to get your mix jumpstarted.
  • Full automation support of all controls for VST compliant hosts (additional extensions for REAPER).
  • Sample accurate, zero-latency algorithm.
  • Creates a more natural pan effect.
  • Creates space in the center of your mix.
  • Turns mono tracks into stereo.
  • Mono and stereo input versions.
  • Works with 64-bit and 32-bit audio hosts running on 32-bit Windows OS or Mac OSX 10.4, 10.5, 10.6
  • Eliminates complex routing to set up a Haas effect.
  • Handles mono-to-stereo and stereo-to-stereo I/O from your DAW.

This free plugin really made getting a huge guitar sound with clarity easy and without taxing my CPU.  Follow this link to hear some audio examples.    http://www.benvesco.com/blog/mixing/2009/mix-recipes-heavy-guitar-haas-and-eq/  This link also has a tutorial on how to get a huge guitar sound by using it on two identical guitar tracks, kind of like quadrophonic.



Leave a Reply

